Where to find Beta Readers

Sarah Bowman
Sarah Bowman, Writer & Researcher, volunteer at Atheist Secular Humanism

I can recommend Scribophile. People are pretty good there but you have to provide beta reader service, too, in order to get help. I think it’s fair the way it works. You can check it out. They have rules clearly posted. I have found it quite helpful.

Another route to go is asking all your friends to read and critique your stories. The problem with that is that they may not be into writing per se. The people are Scribophile all have interest in the art of writing and are familiar with terms like “character” and “plot.”

Yet a third route…Just now when I typed “beta reader” into Google for a definition, I saw “Beta-reader for hire.” If you can afford it, you might want to check that out. I don’t know what kind of service they provide but I know there are “editing” types of services available for hire if one can afford them, people who help writers prepare manuscripts for publishers.

For some perspective on what kind of money you’re looking at. I think rates are so many cents per word. Several years ago, a friend of mine paid hundreds of dollars to get a book done. I read the book after it was published and was not impressed. I don’t know how she feels about it—maybe she feels that it would not have gotten published otherwise.

As for Scribophile, all I can say is what I said here. Having someone reading and responding to my chapters has restored my incentive to keep on writing.

Leave a Reply

