Caring for Older Dogs

Any tips on raising a dog that is over 9 years old?

Sarah Bowman
Sarah Bowman, trained my problem rescue dog for safe walking in crowded public spaces

Dogs have simple needs but health issues can become very costly if not caught in time. Consult your vet to find out exactly what your specific dog needs. The only tips I can really add are my own experience.

My dog is approximately twelve years old. I take her to the vet for her annual check-up and closely follow the vet’s recommendation for food, medication, and exercise. Whenever there’s a health issue, the vet is my first resource for advice. I try to understand why my dog likes and wants, and balance that with what I can provide and/or tolerate. For example, she’d love to run free and chase squirrels and cats but for a city dog living in an apartment, that doesn’t work. However, I can take her out for the recommended walks so she feels satisfied and tired enough to sleep. Another example: I cannot tolerate her barking at the neighbour’s dogs but I can play with her or walk her so she feels satisfied and content to nap.

Leave a Reply

