Bible Encourages Egotism in Christians

I’m a Christian. I’m annoyed that I can’t be perfect. Lazy – I know I should work harder but I already condemn myself because I ain’t perfect. Too many flaws. I hate being told what to do. I like to feel superior. I hate how vulnerable and transparent I can be.

Sarah Bowman
Sarah Bowman, Atheist, Ex-Christian, Secular Humanist, non-religious, just your average human

You’re talking to the wrong person. I gave up on God ten years ago. He never helped me achieve the peace of heart I longed for, nor the peace with other people, nor most importantly the peace of mind and answers to lifelong burning questions about salvation. Yet according to the Bible he created me with a mind that needed these answers to trust him.

Regarding big egos in Christians. The way I see it, the Bible encourages it. The preachers and teachers encourage it. EXAMPLE:

God so loved the world that he sent his only begotten son so that whoever believeth on him should not perish but have everlasting life. John 3:16.

God, apparently, had such huge regard for us humans on this tiny planet to worry about every hair on our head and send his own son to die for me personally, if you believe everything the churches tell you. That’s ego-building stuff, heady.

“The fool hath said in his heart there is no God,” sneers the Psalmist in Ps. 14:1. Again, ego-building stuff for Christians, reasons to puff out their chests and say, “We believe in God. We’re not fools like those atheists and and pagans.”

When complaints come in about Christian arrogance and intolerance, again the Bible preps them with ego-boosting answers:

2 Timothy 3:12 English Standard Version (ESV)

12 Indeed, all who desire to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted,

And just like that, persecution by non-Christians has become a stamp of God’s approval. Very ego-boosting for Christians.

So how do you humble a Christian with a big ego? I have no idea, so long as you have it in your head that you are God’s beloved, special above and beyond the rest of us.

If the question had come from a non-Christian, as I had assumed from the title, I would have said to ignore the person, that nothing is more devastating to a big ego than indifference.

Leave a Reply

