Pascal’s Wager Refuted

Sarah Bowman

Sarah Bowman, Humanist studied theology, social work, some philosophy, anthropology

On whose promise do Christians go to heaven and how to we know that promise is valid? The Quran does not admit Christians to heaven. Nor does Thor. A favourite saying of Thor worshippers:

CONCLUSION: If the Christian God is the wrong god, there’s hell to pay.

Then there’s the Buddhist hell, in between incarnations, some Buddhist hells being hot and some cold but none pleasant.

This is but a tiny sample of what supposedly can happen to me if I don’t believe in the right god. But which is the right god? You as a Christian, obviously say the Christian God is the only true God, and quite rightly. But the others just as rightly say their god is the true God. Or their beliefs are the Only True Way.

But all of them, including Christianity, have such strange unprovable things supposedly happening after death. All of it is really scary.

From the Christian Bible:

1 John 4:18

There is no fear in love, but perfect love drives out fear, because fear expects punishment. The person who is afraid has not been made perfect in love.

For me it is impossible to feel and receive perfect love from an invisible intangible entity I am told is everywhere present but whose presence is never manifest to me in any way, shape, or form. I wasted many decades trying to connect to that supposed entity, foregoing the deep inner peace of knowing I was whole and good enough of my own self. Your implication that if no God exists, I lose nothing by believing in him anyway is naive, misguided, and plain wrong. Every since letting go of God I have had the deep abiding inner peace that passeth understanding, promised in the Bible to believers. Except I had to stop believing to get it.

That is why atheists exist. I hope you read to the end and that you accept this testimony as truthfully spoken not only for myself but many other’s whose testimonies I have read on ex-christian.net forums and elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

