Death: The End

Sarah Bowman

Sarah Bowman, Secular Humanist: studied theology, social work, some philosophy, anthropology

I plan to stay dead once I die. My brain will be dead and I will no longer know what is happening to my body or the place I used to live or to the things I used to own. I won’t even know if the world blows up and everyone with it. The neurons in my brain will have stopped firing, which means I won’t have any awareness at all anymore or any sense of self so nothing will matter.

What matters a great deal is how I live now while I am alive. I want to be happy and enjoy life with friends and family and my dog. I want to make others feel good and be happy just because that will make me feel good and the world will be a better place for all of us. It will be safe and comfortable if all of us are happy and good to each other. That is why this life matters so much, why the quality of this life is so important, and why we need to make it legal for people to have a dignified end of this life rather than a painful nasty malingering.

Leave a Reply

