Dog Kisses Sometimes Unfriendly Gesture

Sarah Bowman

Sarah Bowman, trained my problem rescue dog for safe walking in crowded public spaces

Your dog sounds somewhat aggressive, a bit like mine. Mine won’t kiss me, either, nor jump up on me. I am her pack leader and she respects that. But she will jump up on and kiss all my friends. I have never heard this from anyone else but it occurs to me that there is very little difference between kissing, licking, and biting or eating. You mention attack kissing, which supports my theory that all this mouth activity may be a form of aggression. I have also read that a little dog standing on Grandma’s lap is asserting its superiority, another form of aggression like jumping up. I personally discourage all of this unless the recipient really likes it. Even so, I supervise very closely. As a dog-owner, I am legally responsible if my dog hurts someone.
Leave a Reply

